“Donald Trump” by Mac Miller (2011)

White rappers in the hood

I forgot the events that led me to watch the late Mac Miller’s “Donald Trump” on YouTube in 2012. The only thing I could remember was that the first time I heard the song, I was immediately blown away. That wasn’t the first time, though, that I’ve heard of Mac Miller or watched his music video; in 2011, I watched “Best Day Ever.” (Again, I forgot why I watched that music video or how I came to find him on the internet.)

"Donald Trump" by Mac Miller
“Donald Trump” by Mac Miller (Image from Wikipedia)

The late Mac Miller would be just one of the very few white (Caucasian) rappers I know of.

The first one was Eminem, way back in August 2002 during the height of the success of his fourth studio album The Eminem Show. His personal background and climb to success, as well as his lyrical artistry, greatly inspired me. I lost count of the number of articles I read about his special place in the predominantly black (African American) music scene.

Later, across different sources I could get my hand on and at different times, I got to know other white rappers:

  • Vanilla Ice. I read about him in a music magazine in early 2003. His 19## hit Ice Ice Baby would become one of my most favorite songs.
  • Beastie Boys. If my memory serves me right, the Beastie Boys appeared in the Guinness World Records (but I forgot what edition it was and for what record). I saw their picture for the first time in a magazine (in the 2nd quarter of 2003 while killing time at a classmate’s house and reading magazines). Surprised I was to know that they’re white. And more surprised years later when I read they’re Jewish and Buddhist.
  • Kid Rock. He alternates between rock, hip hop, and country. I forget where or when I did first know about him but I watched his live performance of “Bawitdaba” in the summer of 2006 (courtesy of my cousin who loved burning music videos and concerts.)
  • Bubba Sparxxx. On her way home, my sister picked up a discarded Time magazine near the former town mayor’s house. In it was a short not-so-enthusiastic review of the Southern rapper’s debut album Dark Days, Bright Nights, released in 2001.
  • 3rd Bass. My brother bought me a hip hop special issue of Rolling Stone in 2006. Among the rappers featured were two whites. MC Serch of the group 3rd Bass was the host of the reality show Ego Trip’s The (White) Rapper Show. The other white rapper was…
  • Lady Sovereign. She’s the first and one of the three white female rappers I know of (the other two were Sarai and Iggy Azalea). Three years later, I watched the videos to “Love Me or Hate Me” and “So Human” on Channel V.

I created my first social media account (MySpace) in 2009, which I used to create my first playlists and second blog (first one was a Blogspot). It was in MySpace where I found Sarai. I added two songs of hers – “Ladies” and “Pack Ya Bags” – to my playlist.

Over the years, I would get to know and listen to Yelawolf, Macklemore, Machine Gun Kelly, Upchurch, and Tom MacDonald. Just last year, I bought a book on the Eurovision Song Contest at a discounted price. One of the moments featured was British rapper Daz Sampson’s performance of “Teenage Life” during the 2006 edition in Greece. Catchy song it was but too bad, it didn’t get much love from the public.

Okay, I have strayed away from the late Mac Miller. Let’s get back to him… and now President Donald J. Trump.

Mac Miller and Donald Trump
Mac Miller and Donald Trump (Image from https://thisismoscatolife.com/)

Mac Miller and Donald Trump

The late Mac Miller has not much impact in my life, except for the fact that I’m a fan of only one song, which is “Donald Trump,” which was one of my LSS tracks of 2012. I do, however, appreciate his place in the music industry.

As “Donald Trump” registered in my consciousness, I envisioned Mac Miller becoming a phenomenon. I saw him as the next big thing in hip hop after Eminem, and I wasn’t alone in my observation. Businessman Donald Trump congratulated the then-rising Pittsburgh rapper and Wiz Khalifa affiliate for achieving over 20 million views of the song and video sharing the millionaire’s namesake. The Donald even called him “the new Eminem” (MTV News, Aug. 24, 2011).

Of royalties and branding

Four years later, I revisited the song, especially during the US Presidential Election 2016 season. I was shocked to read on Wikipedia that:

As the song garnered more plays in 2012, Trump took a more aggressive tone and demanded royalties for using his name, igniting a feud with Miller (Vanity Fair). In January 2013, Trump threatened Miller with a lawsuit via a series of exchanges on Twitter (Complex). In July 2015, Trump changed his attitude toward Miller again when he ended an interview with The Hill by praising Miller’s song as it approached 100 million views (The Hill).

The late Mac Miller was one of the many celebrities to denounce the then-candidate of the Republican Party.

Was Donald Trump right to demand royalties from “Donald Trump” by Mac Miller? I don’t know. I can’t tell because I’m neither an artist nor brand owner. I do, however, know that he had worked hard to establish the Trump brand. In the book Midas Touch (Plata Publishing; 2012) co-authored by Rich Dad Poor Dad brand owner Robert T. Kiyosaki, he said, “You may think that my success is because the Trump brand carries weight and makes everything easier, but I know that I am not always in control of our destiny as a brand and an organization.

“There’s timing to be considered. There have been many times when I have had to wait a long time, and very patiently, for projects to get off the ground, for things to happen.”

Mac Miller
Mac Miller (Image from https://y105music.com/)

In closing: Mac Miller, a legend

In 2018, Mac Miller died of an apparent drug overdose. He was 26. He often talked about his drug use and his battle with depression throughout his career. I also came across headlines and news one-liners suggesting that his failed relationship with singer Ariana Grande might have also played a role in his death. (I watched a video of their collaboration “The Way” in the summer of 2013. I never knew they were in a relationship until such news came out.)

I had high hopes for Mac Miller that he would follow in the way of success of Eminem or Kid Rock. I envisioned him helping to raise the profile of (more) white rappers and championing their place in the hip hop community. In his short life, he had done enough great work.

I expected Philippine FM stations to start playing his tracks, particularly “Donald Trump.” None ever came. Philippine news outlet only reported his sudden demise.

“Donald Trump” was the only song I love from the late Mac Miller. It’s forever a masterpiece. I consider it his magnum opus.

I pray Mac Miller is in a better place now, finally having the rest he desired and free from his demons. I pray he’s enjoying his place among the music legends.

As for President Donald J. Trump, I pray he has forgiven Mac Miller. I pray he never forgets the great moment when he first heard the song.

Leave a comment